Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Irish Surgical Training Group (ISTG)

ISTG (formerly known as the Irish Higher Surgical Training Group) is an independent entity run by surgical trainees. In addition to organising and running specific events (see below), ISTG represents trainees from all subspecialties and levels of surgical training at a variety of committees influencing training. For Further information visit our website www.istg.ie

 

Committee Membership 2018/2019

 

Chair: Ailin Rogers (General Surgery) ailinrogers@gmail.com

Secretary: Michael Boland (General Surgery) michaelboland@rcsi.ie

Treasurer: David Brinkman (ENT) davidbrinkman@rcsi.ie

Website manager: Michael Flanagan (General Surgery) michaelflanagan@rcsi.ie

 

Sub-specialty representatives:

General Surgery: Enda Hannan endahannan@rcsi.ie

Vascular Surgery: Thomas Aherne thomasaherne@rcsi.ie 

Orthopaedics: Eamonn Coveney eamonncoveney@rcsi.ie

Plastics: Christina Buckley christinabuckley@rcsi.ie

Paediatric Surgery: Brendan O’Connor brendanroryoconnor@rcsi.ie

Neurosurgery: Tafadzwa Mandiwanza fadzi411@gmail.com

ENT: David Brinkman  davidbrinkman@rcsi.ie

Urology: Anna Walsh annalucy@gmail.com

Cardiothoracics: Paul Cullen paulcullen@rcsi.ie

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery: Akinsola Ogunbowale aaogunbowale@hotmail.com

Ophthalmic Surgery:   Emma Duignan emmaduignan@rcsi.com

Core Surgical Training: Jessis Ryan jessryan5000@gmail.com

 

Association of Surgeons in Training:

Representatives: Deirdre Nally (General Surgery) deirdrenally@rcsi.ie & Christina Fleming (General Surgery) christinafleming@rcsi.ie

 

Events 2018-2019:

Trainee Careers Day, RCSI, 10th November 2018

Trainee Session on Charter Day, RCSI, 9th February 2019 

Annual Trainee Dinner and Awarding of Silver Scalpel: May 2019 (tbc)

Former Silver Scalpel Winners:

2017 Mr Michael O'Sullivan

2016 Prof Alan Mortell

2015 Prof Paddy Broe

2014 Ronan Waldron

2013 Gerry McCoy

2012 Prof Sean Tierney

2011 Gerry McEntee

2010 Bill Quinlan

2008 Joe Duignan

2007 Bosco O'Mahony

2004 Prof Liam Kirwan