Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Irish Surgical Training Group (ISTG)

ISTG (formerly known as the Irish Higher Surgical Training Group) is an independent entity run by surgical trainees. In addition to organising and running specific events (see below), ISTG represents trainees from all subspecialties and levels of surgical training at a variety of committees influencing training. For Further information visit our website


Committee Membership 2017/2018

Chair: Eamon Francis (Plastics)

Vice Chair:Ailin Rogers (General Surgery)

Secretary: Michael Boland (General Surgery)

Treasurer: David Brinkman (Core)

Communications and Events: Naisrin Elsafty (ENT) & Emma Keane (ENT)

Website manager: Michael Flanagan (General Surgery)


Sub-specialty representatives:

General Surgery: Josh De Marchi

Orthopaedics: Olan Carmody & Mary Nugent

Plastics: Jack Woods

Paediatric Surgery: Brendan O’Connor

Neurosurgery: Kieron Sweeney

ENT: Robbie Woods

Urology: Greg Nason

Cardiothoracics: Paul Cullen

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery: Paul Sexton

Ophthalmic Surgery: Michael O'Rourke   

Core Surgical Training Year 1 Geoffrey Crozier Shaw & Year 2: John O'Kelly   


Association of Surgeons in Training:

ASiT Chair: Helen Mohan (General Surgery)

Representatives: Deirdre Nally (General Surgery) & Christina Fleming (General Surgery)



Events 2017-2018:

Annual Trainee Dinner and Awarding of Silver Scalpel: April 2018 (tbc)

Former Silver Scalpel Winners:

2017 Mr Michael O'Sullivan

2016 Prof Alan Mortell

2015 Prof Paddy Broe

2014 Ronan Waldron

2013 Gerry McCoy

2012 Prof Sean Tierney

2011 Gerry McEntee

2010 Bill Quinlan

2008 Joe Duignan

2007 Bosco O'Mahony

2004 Prof Liam Kirwan