Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Irish Surgical Training Group (ISTG)

ISTG (formerly known as the Irish Higher Surgical Training Group) is an independent entity run by surgical trainees. In addition to organising and running specific events (see below), ISTG represents trainees from all subspecialties and levels of surgical training at a variety of committees influencing training.

Committee Membership 2016/2017

Chair:Mary Nugent (Orthopaedics)

Vice chair: Eamon Francis (Plastics)

Secretary and Asit Rep: Helen Mohan (General)

Treasurer and Sponsorship officer: Sam Jaber (ENT)

Communications and publicity officer: Naisrin Elsafty (ENT)

Events Officers: Michael Kelly (General) and Sarah Norton (Core)

Website manager: Michael Flanagan (Core)

 

Sub-specialty representatives:

General Surgery: Ailin Rogers ailinrogers@gmail.com Cillian Clancy cillianclancy@rcsi.ie

Orthopaedics: Olan Carmody olancarmody@rcsi.ie Niall McGoldrick niallmcg@gmail.com

Plastics: Jack Woods jackwoods@rcsi.ie

Paediatric Surgery: Brendan O’Connor brendanroconnor@rcsi.ie

Neurosurgery: Philip O’Halloran phiohalloran@rcsi.ie

ENT: Catherine Brophy catherinebrophy@rcsi.ie

Urology: Niall Davis  nialldavis@rcsi.ie

Cardiothoracics: Adam Daly adamdaly@rcsi.ie

Core Surgical Training Year 1 & 2: Christopher Fenelon cgcfenelon@gmail.com

 

Events 2016-2017:

Careers Day: Saturday 12th November 2016:

Morning Session: Subspecialty career guidance

Afternoon Session: Lecture on Leadership in Healthcare with guest speaker Dr Rhona Mahony, Master, National Maternity Hospital, 10am-4pm Albert Lecture Theatre, Royal College of Surgeons, 123 St Stephens Green, Dublin 

Charter Day and ISTG Annual Meeting: Friday 10th - Saturday 11th February 2017

Annual Trainee Dinner and Awarding of Silver Scalpel: April 1st 2017

Former Silver Scalpel Winners:

2016 Prof Alan Mortell

2015 Prof Paddy Broe

2014 Ronan Waldron

2013 Gerry McCoy

2012 Prof Sean Tierney

2011 Gerry McEntee

2010 Bill Quinlan

2008 Joe Duignan

2007 Bosco O'Mahony

2004 Prof Liam Kirwan