Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI Confers Ireland’s First Graduates With Unique Masters in Women’s Health (M.Sc)

24 November 2005

THE first cohort of graduates from the country’s only Masters Programme in Women’s Health (M.Sc.) were conferred today at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI).

Established in October 2002, the M.Sc. in Women’s Health is a two-year part-time course covering all aspects of women’s health from Gynaecology to Medical Ethics to Anthropology and is particularly focused on the care of women in a primary care setting.

Having completed their dissertations in late 2004, the 16 new M.Sc. Graduates include General Practitioners, Practice Nurses, Nurse Specialists and Gynaecology Registrars. Course Director and Lecturer in Women’s Health and Community Gynaecology at the RCSI, GP Dr. Mary Condren said "this course has produced the first cohort of professionals with a postgraduate training in the wider aspects of women’s health where the woman is seen as a whole person rather than a disease entity."

More than 200 students in total were conferred during two special graduation ceremonies today at the RCSI.

The morning event conferred new graduates in Physiotherapy, Medicine, and a number of Postgraduate degrees such as PhDs, Masters (M.Sc.) in Primary Healthcare as well as the new M.Sc. in Women’s Health, while the afternoon ceremony saw new graduates in Nursing, Practice Development and Nursing Management.

Pictured are the first cohort of graduates from the country’s first M.Sc in Womens’s Healthcare. L to R Front Row: Mary Cummins, Dr. Mary Condren GP, Course Director and Lecturer in Women’s Health and Community Gynaecology, RCSI; Karen Farrar, Hazel Byrne and Margaret O’Shea.
Back Row: L to R Lawahd Hassan , Hilary Ikele , Martina Cleary Miriam O’Meara, Mary Martin, Orla Loftus-Moran and Christine Kelly

RCSI Clinical Pharmacology PhDs (L-R) Kelly Aylward, Karen Lawler and Martina Foy with Dr. Niamh Moran, MRes/PhD Programme Director (far left) and Professor Dermot Kenny, Director of the RCSI Clinical Research Centre (far right) at the conferring

Pictured left to right at the recent conferring are RCSI Physiotherapy graduates Tomás Ó Ráighne, Clare Hogan, Associate Professor of Physiotherapy Maire Guidon (RCSI), Jennifer Ward, Miriam Barrett, Orlaith Reid, Edel O’Hagan.

Mary Frances Crowley Award winner Edna Woolhead, who received an MSc in Nursing, with RCSI Nursing Dean Eileen Maher and RCSI Nursing Department Head Professor Seamus Cowman pictured after the conferring ceremony.

At the November 2005 conferring ceremony NUI PhD degrees were conferred on three postgraduate students in Chemistry. Pictured left to right are Dr. Celine Marmion, Clodagh Mulcahy, Professor Kevin B. Nolan, Laura Kennedy, Dr. Marc DeVocelle and Jean Lee. Dr. Celine Marmion supervised Clodagh Mulcahy who researched the synthesis and structural diversity of novel multinuclear supramolecular architectures and won an Enterprise Ireland International Collaboration grant. Laura Kennedy carried out her research under the supervision of Professor Kevin Nolan on synthesis, structures, solution studies and biomimetic applications of imidazoline and hydroxamate complexes. Jean Lee carried out her research under the supervision of Dr Marc Devocelle and Professor John Kelly on the design, parallel synthesis and in vitro activity of novel hydroxamic acid-based prostaglandin H2 synthase inhibitors.

Lorna Cryan, Martina Foy, and Karen Lawler who were all conferred with a Degree of Doctors in philosophy (PhD).

Niamh O’Brien with her MSc in Muscoskeletal Studies at the recent RCSI conferring

Vicky Glover, Jenny Copeland and Eithne Lennon who were all conferred with a BSc in Physiotherapy.

Nursing graduates from the Royal Victoria Eye & Ear Hospital are pictured at the recent RCSI Conferring. From left to right are Mary Casey, BSc in Nursing (Practise Management), Espeth Finlay, MSc Nursing, RCSI Head of Department Professor Seamus Cowman, Linda Harris, BSc in Nursing Management, Martina Sheridan, BSc Nursing,and Former Faculty of Nursing Dean Augusta Fitzsimons

The MSc Nursing class of 2005 pictured after their recent conferring

Pictured are the 2005 Graduates from the Masters (MSc) in Primary Healthcare Programme with Professor and Head of the Department of General Practice RCSI Professor William Shannon (far left) and Senior Lecturer at the Department Dr. David Whitford (far right)