Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Archived news 2008

 


Click on the links below to read full article.

05-01-2009
Monday, 5th January 2008-Students Get a Taste for Medicine at RCSI Open Day

19-12-2008
Friday, 21st December 2008-Mr. Kenneth Mealy Elected Council Member of RCSI

15-12-2008
Monday, 15th December 2008-Leading American Surgeon Awarded Honorary Fellowship of RCSI at Postgraduate Conferring Ceremony

12-12-2008
Thursday, 11th December 2008-Portrait of Professor Gerald O'Sullivan Unveiled at Council Dinner

05-12-2008
Friday, 5th December 2008-Breast Cancer Ireland at RCSI Raises Eur550,000 for Breast Cancer Research

01-12-2008
Monday, 1st December 2008-RCSI Research Student Awarded NUI Centennial Medal and Travelling Scholarship

27-11-2008
Thursday, 27th November 2008-RCSI Takes Part in PRTLI Ten Year Celebrations

27-11-2008
Thursday, 27th November 2008-RCSI-Dubai Officially Opened by Tánaiste Mary Coughlan

26-11-2008
Wednesday, 26th November 2008-RCSI Dubai Confers Healthcare Management Masters Degrees

21-11-2008
Friday, 21st November 2008-RCSI & RCPI Biological Society Holds 76th Annual Meeting

13-11-2008
Thursday, 13th November 2008-RCSI Conferring Ceremony

08-11-2008
Saturday, 8th November 2008-RCSI Hosts Graduate Entry Programme Open Day

07-11-2008
Friday, 7th November, 2008-RCSI Awards Honorary Fellowship to Dr. Patricia Donahoe

06-11-2008
Thursday 6th November 2008 - RCSI ''Come to your senses'' workshop

05-11-2008
Wednesday 5th November 2008 - Dr. Art Levine lecture''Fish, Mice, Newts, and Very Large Magnets: What Are They Teaching Us About Ourselves?''

04-11-2008
Tuesday 4th November 2008 - Belfast book launch 'Irish Surgeons and Surgery in the Twentieth Century' By Professor Barry O'Donnell

04-11-2008
Tuesday 4th November 2008 - HRB Chairman Stresses Importance of Continued Investment in Health Research

02-11-2008
Sunday, 2nd November 2008-RCSI/AIBs Race Against Breast Cancer 2008 Raises Over Eur545,000 for Breast Cancer Research

29-10-2008
Wednesday 29th October 2008 - Inaugural REACH Football Shield Match

22-10-2008
Wednesday 22nd October 2008 - Ireland's First Brain Bio-Banking Network Officially Launched

21-10-2008
Tuesday 21st October 2008 - RCSI Mini-Med School in Waterford

13-10-2008
Monday 13th October 2008 - RCSI North American Chapter of Fellows meets in San Francisco, incorporating US Book launch of ''Irish Surgeons and Surgery in the 20th Century''

12-10-2008
Sunday 12th October 2008 - American College of Surgeons awards Honorary Fellowship to Professor Gerald O'Sullivan (Past President, RCSI)

10-10-2008
Friday, 10th October 2008-Massachusetts Senate President Pays Visit to RCSI

09-10-2008
Thursday, 9th October 2008-RCSI Holds Art Exhibition by Patsy Dan Rodgers, King of Tory Island

07-10-2008
Tuesday 7th October, 2008 - Fashion show, Killaloe, Co. Clare in aid of Breast Cancer Ireland

06-10-2008
Monday 6th October 2008 - Cork book launch of 'Irish Surgeons and Surgery in the 20th Century' by Professor Barry O'Donnell

02-10-2008
Thursday 2nd October 2008 - Aungier Celtic Football Club (ACFC) Unveil New Football Kits

02-10-2008
Thursday 2nd October 2008 - Official Book Launch of 'Irish Surgeons and Surgery in the 20th Century' by Professor Barry O'Donnell

29-09-2008
Monday, 29th September 2008 - Undergraduate Orientation Day

26-09-2008
Thursday, 25th September 2008- Breast Cancer Ireland at the National Ploughing Championships, Cuffesgrange, Co. Kilkenny

25-09-2008
25th - 29th September 2008 - Faculty of Radiologists, Annual Scientific Meeting

18-09-2008
Thursday, 18th September 2008-RCSI Alumni Gala Reunion

15-09-2008
Monday, 15th September 2008-Graduate Entry Programme (GEP) Orientation Day Takes Place at RCSI

12-09-2008
Friday, 12th September 2008-Annual RCSI & RCPI Sports and Exercise Medicine Conference

10-09-2008
Wednesday, 10th September 2008-Mayor Officially Opens HSE/RCSI Educational Facility at Waterford Regional Hospital

27-08-2008
Wednesday, 27th August 2008-SPUR Mini-Symposium and Prize-Giving Ceremony Takes Place at RCSI

22-08-2008
ISU 2008, The annual meeting of the Irish Society of Urology will take place on 12th & 13th September 2008

20-08-2008
Wednesday, 20th August 2008-RCSI Hosts Community Health and Fitness Day

06-08-2008
Wednesday, 6th August 2008-New MSc-Postgraduate Diploma in Healthcare Management (Community Pharmacy) at RCSI

01-08-2008
Friday, 1st August 2008-RCSI Participates in Ground-breaking Schizophrenia Study Published in Nature

22-07-2008
Tuesday, 22nd July 2008-Senate of Surgery of Great Britain and Ireland meet at RCSI

16-07-2008
Wednesday, 16th July 2008 - Mna Na hEireann! RCSI raises over 50,000 at Annual Golf Classic

14-07-2008
Monday, 14th July 2008-World Renowned Hepatologist and Malaysian Director-General of Health Awarded Honorary Fellowship at RCSI Postgraduate Conferring Ceremony

10-07-2008
Thursday, 10th July 2008-Japanese Ambassador to Ireland Visits RCSI to Mark Japan-Ireland Research Collaboration

08-07-2008
Tuesday, 8th July 2008-Joint Anglo-American ENT Meeting Takes Place at RCSI

04-07-2008
Friday, 4th July 2008-RCSI Professor of Psychiatry elected President of Medical Council

27-06-2008
Friday, 27th June 2008-REACH RCSI Holds Intercultural Sports, Health and Recreation Day.

26-06-2008
Thursday, 26th June 2008-RCSI Students Shape the Future of Pharmacy

25-06-2008
Wednesday, 25th June 2008-Unveiling of the Newly Renovated RCSI Mercer's Medical Centre

23-06-2008
Monday, 23rd June: RCSI Licensed as Third Level Education Institution in the United Arab Emirates

19-06-2008
Thursday, 19th June: Mary Robinson launches Ireland Africa Partnership for Health Research at RCSI

18-06-2008
Wednesday, 18th June: Minister of Health for the Kingdom of Bahrain visits RCSI

17-06-2008
Tuesday 17th June: RCSI endorses the World Health Organisation's Second Global Patient Safety Challenge

12-06-2008
Thursday, 12th June 2008-Professor Tyrone D. Cannon Delivers Guest Lecture at RCSI

12-06-2008
Thursday, 12th June 2008-RCSI/AIB Race Against Breast Cancer 2008

06-06-2008
Friday, 6th June 2008-Cavan-Monaghan Mental Health Service and the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland forge closer connections in psychiatry research and teaching

05-06-2008
Thursday, 5th June 2008-RCSI Conferring Ceremony

04-06-2008
Wednesday 4th June 2008-RCSI Elects New President and Council

27-05-2008
Tuesday, 27th May 2008-Under-Secretary at the Ministry for Higher Education of Oman Pays Official Visit to RCSI

23-05-2008
Friday, 23rd May 2008-RCSI Soccer Team Triumph in Hospitals Cup

22-05-2008
Thursday, 22nd May 2008-Beaumont/Richmond Hospital Marks the End of 30 Year Exchange Programme with Johns Hopkins Hospital

19-05-2008
Monday, 19th May 2008-New Selection Criteria for Undergraduate Entry to Medicine from 2009

19-05-2008
Monday, 19th May-2008 Engineers Ireland Biomedical Research Medal at RCSI

13-05-2008
Tuesday, 13th May 2008-Come to Your Senses with RCSI, a Science Workshop for Primary School Teachers

08-05-2008
Thursday, 8th May 2008-President of the College of Surgeons of East, Central and Southern Africa Conferred Fellow by Special Election at RCSI

08-05-2008
Thursday, 8th May 2008-RCSI President Elected as Next President of European Surgical Association

07-05-2008
Wednesday, 7th May 2008-The Spike Milligan Public Speaking Competition

06-05-2008
Tuesday, 6th May 2008-U.S. Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Services Visits RCSI

30-04-2008
Wednesday, 30th April 2008-RCSI Students Compete in 112th Boston Marathon

29-04-2008
Tuesday, 29th April 2008-Latest Results from SLÁN Survey Published Today

29-04-2008
Tuesday, 29th April 2008-RCSI Appoints Two New Senior Lecturers in Drogheda

24-04-2008
Thursday, 24th April 2008-RCSI Medical Student Inaugural Winner of Beaumont Gold Medal in Medicine

21-04-2008
Monday, 21st April 2008-Members of Dublin Fire Brigade Conferred with RCSI EMT Diploma

17-04-2008
Thursday, 17th April 2008-Molecular Medicine Ireland Launched Today

14-04-2008
Monday, 14th April 2008-5 million HRB PhD Programme in Health Services Research Launched at RCSI

11-04-2008
Friday 11th April 2008-Launch of Sub-Reports of the Irish Study of Sexual Health and Relationships

11-04-2008
Friday, 11th April 2008-RCSI Celebrates Cultural Diversity at International Week 2008

09-04-2008
Wednesday, 9th April 2008-Launch of Irish National Audit of Stroke Care (INASC) Report

07-04-2008
Monday, 7th April 2008-Minister Mary Harney Launches Art Exhibition at RCSI

03-04-2008
Thursday, 3rd April 2008-5 Million HRB Centre to be Established at RCSI

02-04-2008
Wednesday, 2nd April 2008-RCSI Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences Hold Conference on Curriculum.

01-04-2008
Tuesday, 1st April 2008-Hennessy Lecture Takes Place at RCSI

26-03-2008
Wednesday, 26th March 2008-RCSI Research Day Reveals Killer Smile

14-03-2008
Friday, March 14th 2008-RCSI Malaysian Office Officially Opened by Tanaiste Brian Cowen

12-03-2008
Wednesday, 12th March 2008-RCSI Sports Day Takes Place Today

10-03-2008
Monday, 10th March 2008-Minister for Health and Children Mary Harney TD Meets RCSI GEP Students

07-03-2008
Friday, 7th March 2008-Vascular Society of Great Britain and Ireland Meeting at RCSI

26-02-2008
Tuesday, 26th February 2008-Inaugural PSI Council Meeting Held at RCSI

21-02-2008
Thursday 21st February - 27th International Nursing and Midwifery Conference at RCSI

21-02-2008
Thursday 21st February: RCSI-MUB Basketball Team Visits Dublin

18-02-2008
Monday,18th February 2008-Officials from University of Massachusetts Visit RCSI

16-02-2008
Saturday, 16th February 2008-Charter Day Meetings Take Place at RCSI

16-02-2008
Saturday,16th February 2008-RCSI Awards Honorary Fellowships at Annual Charter Day Meetings

15-02-2008
Friday, 15th February 2008-Niall Toibin Launches "Political Correctness and the Surgeon"

15-02-2008
Friday, 15th February 2008-Surgeons gather at RCSI to discuss Implementation of National Cancer Plan

14-02-2008
Thursday, 14th February 2008-RCSI Confers Masters Degree in Healthcare Management in Dubai

12-02-2008
Tuesday, 12th February 2008-RCSI Study Shows Ireland's Growing Dependence on Non-EU Nurses

07-02-2008
Thursday, 7th February 2008-RCSI Hosts Inaugural INMED Conference

07-02-2008
Thursday,7th February-Dublin Stroke Symposium

05-02-2008
Chairman of Joint Committee on Intercollegiate Examinations

29-01-2008
Monday, 28th January 2008-First Mini Med School for Transition Years Begins at RCSI

18-01-2008
Friday 18th January - Taoiseach Announces Funding for RCSI Surgical Training Programme in Africa