Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

RCSI Launches President's Teaching Awards

02 June 2009

Five lecturers in the Medical Faculty at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) were presented with the first ever ‘President Teaching Awards’ at the undergraduate conferring dinner  on Tuesday, 2nd June.

Pictured from l to r at the RCSI President Teaching Awards are Professor Cathal Kelly, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, RCSI; Professor Alf Nicholson, Head of Paediatrics; Dr. Celine Marmion, School of Medicine; Professor Frank Keane President of RCSI; Dr Eamon Leen, School of Medicine; Professor Mary Leader, RCSI Head of Pathology and Mr Michael Horgan, CEO of RCSI.

The winners, who were presented with their Certificates by Professor Frank Keane, President of RCSI, included Dr. Celine Marmion, Foundation Year; Prof Aidan Bradford, Junior Cycle; Prof. Mary Leader, Intermediate Cycle; Prof. Alf Nicholson, Senior Cycle 1 and Dr. Eamon Leen, Graduate Entry Programme.

Pictured is Professor Frank Keane, President of RCSI presents Professor Aidan Bradford with his award.


Introduced for the first time this year, the President’s Teaching Awards’ were established to recognise excellence in teaching within RCSI. The recipients were chosen by RCSI students in each of the cycles through the RCSI’s virtual learning environment system, Moodle. Initially being awarded this year in Medicine, it is envisaged that the awards in 2010 will be presented to academic staff in the Schools of Pharmacy and Physiotherapy and will then revert back to the School of Medicine every second year.

President Frank Keane said “I would like to congratulate all the recipients on their much deserved awards and for their commitment and excellence in teaching. Each of the winners have been instrumental in developing and delivering the highest standards in medical education and I am delighted to recognise them in this way.”

Undergraduate Conferring Dinner. Prof Sarah Rogers President of the Association Of Graduates presents Mr. Paul Dhillon with the Association of Graduates Gold Medal.

Other awards on the evening included Fahal Al Rhoumi, Dan Kelly Memorial Medal; Dr. Amrit Bajrangee, Best NCHD Clinical Teacher award at ConnollyHospital; Dr. Muirne Spooner, Best NCHD Clinical Teacher award at BeaumontHospital and Paul Dhillon, Gold Medal of the Association of Graduates. The Beaumont Hospital prizes awarded to RCSI medical students included Limy Wong, Lyons prize in Medicine and Surgery; Laura O’Flynn, M’Donnell Prize in Surgery and Eimear Kitt, Corrigan Prize in Medicine.