Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Coláiste Ríoga na Máinleá in Éirinn

Fellowship (FFNMRCSI)

The Fellowship of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery RCSI (FFNMRCSI) is exclusively offered by the RCSI and is one of the most prestigious professional qualifications awarded to nurses in Ireland.

Fellowships are awarded in different categories:

  • Honorary Fellowship
  • Fellow Ad Eundem
  • Fellow by Examination

Honorary Fellowships and Fellowship Ad Eundem are awarded to candidates in recognition of outstanding work and/or exceptional leadership in the profession of nursing/midwifery or a related science, those who have given significant service to the profession or to the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery, and those who have positively influenced and impacted on health and society.

Candidates for these awards are nominated and ratified by the Board of the Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery, prior to review and ratification by the Surgery and Postgraduate Faculties Board (SPFB), RCSI.

A complete list of the Faculty’s Honorary Fellows is available here.

Fellowship by Examination is available to registered nurses and midwives with a minimum of five years nursing experience, holding a Masters level qualification in nursing or midwifery or other relevant and related Masters qualification.

Assessment involves portfolio submission and a 45 minute viva voce. Assessment should demonstrate growth at a personal and professional level and the achievement of excellence in nursing.

The Faculty was delighted to confer its newest Fellows at the Fellows, Members and Diplomates Conferring in December 2017. Fellowship by Examination was conferred on twenty seven nurses and midwives, following submission of their Portfolio and completion of a Viva Voce examination. A further thirteen nurses and midwives were conferred with Fellowship Ad Eundem awards.  

Fellows, Members and Diplomates Conferring Ceremony December 2016.   

Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery Fellows 

Back row (left to right): Prof. Brendan Mc Cormack (Ad Eundem); Prof. Lisbeth Fagerström (Ad Eundem); Mr Marcel Steenkist (Examination); Prof. Martin McNamara (Ad Eundem).

Third row (left to right): Ms Sheila Sugrue (Examination); Prof. Abbey Hyde (Ad Eundem); Prof. Agnes Higgins (Ad Eundem); Ms Joanne O’Brien (Examination); Prof. Alessandro Stievano (Ad Eundem); Prof. Dyanne D. Affonso (Ad Eundem); Dr Kevin McKenna (Examination); Mr Martin Duignan (Examination); Mr Ciaran Lanigan (Examination); Dr Peter J Carter (Ad Eundem); Dr Philippa Ryan Withero (Examination); Ms Mary Godfrey (Examination).

Second row (left to right): Ms Lynda Gibbons (Examination); Ms Maria Keating (Examination); Dr Sinead Hanafin (Ad Eundem); Ms Suzanne Crowley (Examination); Mr Frank Donegan (Head Porter); Dr Louise Kavanagh McBride (Examination); Ms Susan Kent (Examination); Prof. Josephine Hegarty (Ad Eundem); Ms Harvey McDonnell (Examination); Ms Fiona Jacob (Examination).

Front row (left to right): Ms Jacinta Kelly (Honorary Secretary); Prof. Marie Carney (Dean Emeritus); Ms Mary Jacob (Dean); Prof. John Hyland (President, RCSI); Prof. Cathal Kelly (CEO/Registrar, RCSI); Prof. Patrick Broe (Past President, RCSI and RCSI Council Member); Prof. Thomas Kearns (Executive Director).